Britain has gone from God-fearing to God-jeering

Well written piece in the Telegraph today from Alison Pearson:

I’m not sure what I believe, but I do know every word of the Creed, and when I say them I feel I am joining myself to generations who spoke those words centuries before I was born, and that custom is deeply consoling. I thought about my friend, stranded in New York by snow when her son was hurt in a car crash. Ann hadn’t prayed for years, but she slipped into a church on Fifth Avenue, “I can’t manage it alone,” she emailed, “I know that sounds strange.” Religion is strange, infinitely mysterious and easy to mock, but all I can say is that its rituals feel full, not hollow, as so much of modern life does. The [Richard Dawkins followers] argue that you don’t need organised religion to hand down the wisdom of ages or a system of morality. Don’t you?

Leave a Reply

