Premier League Predictions 2010-11 – how did I do?

With the Premier League decided today, how were my predictions this season?

Champions: Manchester United

Runners up: Chelsea

Champions League positions: Arsenal and Manchester City

Top four were all correct although I got the third and fourth places the wrong way round

Europa League: Liverpool and Spurs

Positions correct but again the wrong way round (I thought fifth and sixth both qualified)

Relegation: Blackpool, West Brom, Wolves

Wolves survived by the skin of their teeth, Blackpool peaked to soon then couldn’t turn the season around despite playing attractive football. West Brom were always heading out of trouble as soon as Roy Hodgson arrived. West Ham surprised me at being consistently dismal all season whilst Birmingham lost their form after the Carling Cup win to slip out. I can’t say i’m disappointed to see the back of Birmingham. This morning I would have liked Wigan or Blackburn to join them and I’m glad Wolves stayed up.

Newcastle will finish 12th.

Bang on the money (thanks to a poor second half performance against West Brom with us losing a 3-0 lead on the last day)

The Championship is more open this season than it has been for a long time. There’s no obvious big teams to go up like there were last season. I’m going for Cardiff, Middlesbrough and Nottingham Forest to go up.

League One – Charlton, Southampton and Sheff Wed. I don’t think my former town of Plymouth will be able to make it.

It’s fair to say my predictions for these divisions were way off. Cardiff and Forest went close but Norwich, QPR and either Reading or Swansea will join the premiership next year. I wasn’t expecting Plymouth to do quite so badly, but the 10 point deduction was the thing that really relegated them.

Leave a Reply

