Earthquake in the UK

Measuring 5.3 on the Richter scale, there has been an earthquake in England. It’s epicentre was  just outside Market Rasen in North Lincolnshire and it struck at about 1am. Some residents report that their dogs started barking 30seconds beforehand, and then they felt and heard the tremors. There was some fear, as peopel didn’t know what it was – earthquakes are not expected in the UK. The biggest surprise for many was the loud noise it made. Only one person was injured. Full BBC coverage here.

There was another one a few years ago centred around Dudley, near Birmingham. That also struck in the middle of the night. At the the time I was living about an hours drive from Dudley and the tremors could be felt where I was living. I, however, didn’t feel them as I was asleep at the time. I remember my sense of disbelief when I heard about it the next morning, and my mild annoyance that I’d missed it. Earthquakes are very rare here, and they’re never very strong. Today’s earthquake was the strongest for 25 years.

For those who are interested, the Richter scale is a logarithmic scale, so an earthquake measuring 6.0 is roughly 31 times stronger than one measuring 5.0, and a measurement of 7.0 is 1000 stronger than one of 5.0. The great earthquake in San Francisco in 1906 was about 25000 times stronger than the one in the UK today.

Has anyone been involved in a mild earthquake like this one? what was it like?

5 thoughts on “Earthquake in the UK”

  1. I missed the quake too but finding everything about it so far really interesting. Do you think there will be more to come soon due to climate change?

  2. I’m not sure if climate change has anything to do with earthquakes – isn’t it about the shifting of tectonic plates? Perhaps someone can enlighten me?

  3. I felt one when in the Alps on holiday a number of years ago. I think it was a 4.5. We were sleeping in a caravan and I remember waking up because the caravan was shaking from side to side. Another friend also woke up but the other two slept right through it!

    My brother, the geologist, can confirm that climate change has no effect on earthquakes.

  4. Yes it is but Im pretty sure the rise of temperature causes the tectonic plates to shift, think i will research this a bit more.

Leave a Reply

