Cylon

Wiped Out

I’m thinking about the story of the flood, Noah and the Ark, and one of the questions that arises is ‘Why did God choose to wipe out all of humanity?’ This verse precedes the account of Noah in Genesis 6.

So the Lord said, “I will wipe from the face of the earth the human race I have created—and with them the animals, the birds and the creatures that move along the ground—for I regret that I have made them. (Gen 6:7)

This got me thinking about something we watched last night. My wife and I have become engrossed in the new Battlestar Galactica series’ which were aired between 2004 and 2009 and which we are accessing trough Lovefilm streaming. A race of cylons – half human machines – have attacked and wiped out humanity on the colonised planets of Caprica. Only about 50,000 survive in several spaceships, and they are being chased and ambushed across the galaxy with the military ship, Battlestar Galactica, for protection. In last night’s episode,  Adama, Commander of the fleet, speaks with their cylon-prisoner, Sharon (who sake s human form) about why the cylons are trying to wipe humanity out.(Couldn’t embed the video, but this link should take you direct to the right place)

 

Commander: “I’ve asked you here to find out why the cylons hate us so much?”
Sharon: “I’m not sure i know how to answer that.. I mean hate might not be the right word.”
Commander: “I don’t want to fence with you. I just want to know why.”
Sharon: “It’s what you said at the ceremony before the attack, when Galactica was being decommissioned. You gave a speech that sounded like it wasn’t the one that you’d prepared. You said that humanity was a flawed creation. And that people still kill one another, petty jealousy and greed, you said that humanity never asked itself why it deserved to survive… maybe you don’t!”

Certainly that gets to the heart of the issue. Fortunately, in the story of Noah, God’s grace precedes his judgement and humanity is given a new start.

One thought on “Wiped Out”

Leave a Reply

